Events

Blue Umbrella Day Events

Blue Umbrella Day is happening in April 2021. We will add events as they are organised. Interested in organising an event yourself? Visit our Get Involved section.

Webinar

RESILIENCE OF BOYS

MARCH 10 | 9-11am (Philippines)
MARCH 10 | 1-3am (GMT)
MARCH 9 | 8-10pm (EST)

A webinar with Sherry Hamby, Ph.D – Research Professor of Psychology at the University of the South, TN, USA, Director of the Life Paths Research Center, and co‐author of the Juvenile Victimization Questionnaire. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

SEXUAL VIOLENCE AND RESILIENCE

MARCH 17 | 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
MARCH 17 | 2-4am (GMT)
MARCH 16 | 10pm-12 midnight (ET)

A webinar with Chamreun Yaim (Director, First Step Cambodia), Rita Panicker (Founder and Director, Butterflies, India) and Lois Engelbrecht PhD (Social Worker, CPTCSA, Philippines). A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Sexual violence affecting boys: Global Perspectives

APRIL 8 | 8-930pm (Philippines)
APRIL 8 | 12 Noon – 130pm (GMT)
APRIL 8 | 8-1030am (EST)

How do social norms around gender influence the way boys are affected by sexual violence? 

What is being done to ensure that boys affected by sexual violence grow up in a permanent, safe and caring family or, where needed, in quality alternative care?

Sexual violence affects people of all genders, and it is vital that work is done to support everyone well. This webinar looks at specific considerations that affect boys; an area that is often lacking evidence.

Attendees will hear findings from research done by Family for Every Child member organisations  with children and young people, caregivers and professionals in Cambodia, India, Nepal and the Philippines as well as introducing emerging research from Guyana, South Africa and Zimbabwe. Additionally, member organisation from Paraguay will present advocacy work they are developing in this area as part of our awareness campaign, ‘Blue Umbrella Day’ (blueumbrelladay.org).  

The session will be moderated by Lopa Bhattacharjee, Senior Programme Advisor at Family for Every Child. 

The duration of the event is 90 minutes, including 30 minutes of Q&A session. The event will have Spanish interpretation available. 

You can download the Asia primary research report now.

Register now. 

Webinar

Safeguarding boys in faith communities (1)

APRIL 13 | 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
APRIL 13 | 3-5am (BST)
APRIL 12 | 9-11pm (EST)

A webinar with Gabriel Dy‐Liacco, who has a Ph.D. in pastoral counseling, and sits on the Catholic Safeguarding Institute of the Emmaus Center for Psycho‐Spiritual Formation. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Safeguarding boys in faith communities (2)

APRIL 27 | 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
APRIL 27 | 3-5am (BST)
APRIL 26 | 9-11pm (EST)

A webinar with Bishop Alinaza and Glen Guyton. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Work with men and boys to prevent child sexual abuse

MAY 11 | 4-6pm (Philippines)
MAY 11 | 9-11am (BST)
MAY 11 | 4-6am (ET)

A webinar with Donald Findlater MSW, who has worked in the Probation Service with responsibility for sex offender assessment and treatment, and worked with and sits on the Church of England National Safeguarding Panel. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Sexual behaviour and masculinity

MAY 25 | 4-6pm (Philippines)
MAY 25 | 9-11am (BST)
MAY 25 | 4-6am (ET)

A webinar with Klaus Beier, Alankaar Sharma and Zenaida Rosales. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Children’s literature

JUNE 11| 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
JUNE 11 | 3-5am (BST)
JUNE 10 | 10pm-12 Midnight (ET)

A webinar with Genaro Gojo Cruz, Marty Machowski and Adarna House. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Psychosocial development of boys

JUNE 22| 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
JUNE 22 | 3-5am (BST)
JUNE 21 | 10pm-12 Midnight (ET)

A webinar with Zenaida Rosales, Salvacion Villafuerte and In Touch Philippines. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Medico-legal issues

JULY 13| 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
JULY 13 | 3-5am (BST)
JULY 12 | 10pm-12 Midnight (ET)

A webinar with Jasmin Balbuena, Victor Veith and Cristina Sevilla. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.

Webinar

Psychosocial and school

JULY 27| 10am-12 noon (Philippines)
JULY 27 | 3-5am (BST)
JULY 26 | 10pm-12 Midnight (ET)

A webinar with Josevy Avena, Angelie Bautista and Namrata Joshi. A free online event hosted by Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse, Philippines.